Politics and the Banks
I've posted too much already today, but it's not going to stop...
If you read the Enquirer daily like I do, you've been hearing all about the development of the Banks (between PBS and GABP) down on the river and about the incessant squabbling between city council (mostly Democrats and Charterites) and the county commissioners (mostly Republicans). Naturally, I will side with City Council. I'll admit that both sides have slipped up several times on this deal in this past (obviously, since the land is still a parking lot and there is no plan for development). However, the county is trying to pull it off by themselves, and at least now, the city council just wants everyone to work together. I side with city council, because I realize it will require cooperation between the city and county to get the job done. I don't understand why the county is being so shady. Maybe Mike can shed some light on that when he goes to work for Heimlich in two weeks (until he loses to Pepper). In fact, I wouldn't mind if the two quarrelled until Pepper unseats Heimlich. Then maybe the Democrats can all sit this down and git 'er done. Here's the link:
http://news.enquirer.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20060217/NEWS01/602170417
Either way, I'm quietly hoping that they continue to stall. I am confident that this project will eventually be successful. It is too much of an opportunity to permanently delay. The longer they take, the more time I have to save up money so that I can be the first person to buy a condo in the Banks. Are you serious? Walking distance to both stadiums, downtown, and the nightlife on the river? I will be living there as soon as they get it finished. I will live there until my kids are old enough to need a yard, and then I will move to the suburbs. But I will move back once my kids have all moved away to college. As long as I'm there, we will have plenty of parties. Look forward to seeing you there. You bring the Sam Adams.

0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home